Capital Improvement & Planning Committee

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Capital Planning and Improvement Committee will be responsible for creating and maintaining a rolling ten-year Capital Plan across all government entities and will ensure consistent interpretation and execution of that plan. The Committee will work in collaboration with the various government entities that propose capital expenditures. It will report on the plan to the Town Meeting and advise Town Meeting on proposed capital expenditures.

§ 9-30.1 Establishment; membership; qualifications.

  1. There shall be a Capital Improvement and Planning Committee ("CIPC"), which shall consist of seven voting members and the two nonvoting ex-officio members identified below.
  2. Each voting member shall be a resident of the Town.
  3. The voting members shall be appointed by the Select Board.
  4. At no time should any elected or appointed board, committee, or commission, have more than one representative that also is appointed to CIPC.
  5. The Town Administrator and Finance Director shall be appointed as ex-officio members and may be non-resident Town employees. The Town Administrator or Finance Director, after collaboration with the Select Board as appointing authority, may recommend that another member of the town's finance team (treasurer, assessor, or accounting departments) serve as ex-officio in their place.

§ 9-30.2 Appointments; terms; vacancies; removal.

A. Voting members shall be appointed for three-year terms. The initial appointments shall be three members for three years, two members for two years, and two members for one year, so as to establish overlapping terms. For subsequent appointments, the appointing authority shall request that the CIPC review the qualifications of prospective appointees, but the final determination of who is selected shall rest with the appointing authority.

Established by Article 34 at the May 4, 2022 Annual Town Meeting.